16174935_1855968784678548_7602132374695045666_n

The Jewish afterlife is called Olam Ha-Ba, the world to come. Judaism is not focused on the question of how to get into heaven. Judaism is focused on life and how to live it.

The place of spiritual punishment and purification for the dead in Judaism is referred to as Gehinnom or She’ol. The Torah indicates in several places that the righteous will be reunited with their loved ones after death while the wicked will be excluded from this reunion after death. Humanity is capable of being considered righteous in G-d’s eyes and merit paradise after a suitable period of purification.

The place of spiritual reward for the righteous is often referred to in Hebrew as Gan Eden (the Garden of Eden). This is not the same place where Adam and Eve were; it is a place of spiritual perfection, a place of the peace that one feels when one experiences Shabbat properly, the bliss of the afterlife likened to the warmth of a sunny day.

Every act we do in our lifetime leaves an imprint on our soul. The good we do brightens and elevates our soul, and every wrongdoing leaves a stain that needs to be cleansed. If, at the end of our life, we leave this world without fixing the wrongs we have done, our soul is unable to reach its place of rest on high. We must go through a cycle of deep cleansing. Our soul is flung around at an intense spiritual heat to rid it of any residue it may have gathered, and to prepare it for entry into Heaven.

That’s why our Sages said, “Repent one day before you die.” And what should you do if you don’t know which day that will be? Repent today.

From: various writings by Rabbi’s based on the Talmud.

 

10But the Lord chose to crush him by disease, That, if he made himself an offering for guilt, He might see offspring and have long life, And that through him the Lord’s purpose might prosper.     Isaiah 53/10 Tanakh JPS 1985

 

Commentary:

As G-d’s righteous servant of Isaiah 53 I made my soul an offering to G-d for guilt. My soul has been cleansed and tempered by the hand, power and words of G-d through maltreatment, chastisement, bruising, crushing and punishment.

G-d crushed me with cancer so that I would make my soul and self an offering for guilt to Him. I became guilty of my sins and the sins and guilt of others that were not my own.

My soul was an angry soul full of self will and was a part of all my sins in life. I gave G-d my soul for guilt agreeing to an oppressive judgement and He sentenced me to punishment, chastisement, crushing, bruising and maltreatment in His words and power until I was suitable for His purpose that might prosper.

Maltreatment is a part of being chastised and punished by the hand, words and power of G-d. It is necessary to break the will of a man and to cleanse, temper and calm his soul. It is a tedious slow process. G-d is the one who maltreated me not man. So I was submissive and did all that I was told to do day in and day out.

It is a process similar to breaking a wild horse for riding, making a prisoner obey the rules and a recruit into a soldier in boot camp. It is a removal of self will. The maltreatment is harsh physically and mentally and an emotional nightmare. It is G-d’s way of tempering my emotions and in the process cleansing my soul and spirit.

Having your soul tempered and self will removed while you are alive is very difficult and very painful both physically and emotionally. As my soul and emotions react to the chastisement and maltreatment G-d’s power and elements of the unseen pass through my body to cleanse and coat my soul.

G-d draws emotions from me covering the entire range of human feelings. The coatings are whisper thin but nine years of this process throughout the day and night has changed me greatly. My soul is no longer the soul I was born with.

And all of this is done so that I am suitable for G-d’s purpose which is not specified in Isaiah 53. It is said to be a purpose which “might” prosper. This purpose which might prosper is found in the Book of Malachi.

To reconcile the children to the parents and the parents to the children of the Jewish people through Judaism and if that is not done G-d will smite the land with utter destruction.

This is the purpose of Elijah in Malachi 3 which might prosper who is the man described in Isaiah 53. I am Elijah. I am also the prophet like Moses and the descendant of David through Solomon (the twig of the stump of Jesse). The HaMoshiach, a host of the L-rd of Hosts.

I was not born with the soul of the HaMoshiach. G-d took my sinful soul and created the soul of the HaMoshiach while it has rested in me. A soul G-d can dwell with and not be offended as a host of the L-rd of Hosts. A soul cleansed and purified of all sins and G-d remembers those sins no more.

G-d tells me He is creating a Kingdom in heaven of human spirit persons whose souls will be cleansed and placed in angelic bodies of elements of the unseen and His power.

The Jewish Bible says it will be a new heaven filled with the Jewish people for the name of Israel to endure forever.

220px-JPS_Tanakh

After World War II, the Jewish Publication Society began to consider a new edition of the Bible and the concept of a completely new translation gradually took hold and the task was begun in 1955.

Harry M. Orlinsky, Professor of Bible at Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion (New York) was editor-in-chief along with H. L. Ginsberg, Professor of the Bible at the Jewish Theological Seminary, and Ephraim A. Speiser, Professor of Semitic and Oriental Languages at the University of Pennsylvania, as fellow editors.

Associated with them were three rabbis: Max Arzt, Bernard J. Bamberger, and Harry Freedman, representing the Conservative, Reform, and Orthodox branches of organized Jewish religious life.

Copyright @ 1985 by the Jewish Publication Society.

