God’s presence, according to the ancient view, is confined to the Tabernacle/Sanctuary and to other visible phenomena serving as the vehicles of God, such as the Ark and the *cherubim or the cloud enveloping the Godhead in its movements. That the Tabernacle was considered an indicator for God’s presence in ancient Israel may be learned from the words of Nathan the prophet to David: “… I have been moving about [mithalekh] in a Tabernacle and tent [be-ohel u-ve-mishkan] … All the time I was moving about among the Israelites…” (II Sam. 7:6–7).

The same concept is given expression in the Priestly source of the Pentateuch: “I will establish My abode [mishkani] in your midst… and I will be moving about[i.e, be present]in your midst: I will be your God and you shall be my people” (Lev. 26:11–12). Similar statements are found in other parts of the Priestly literature, where shakhan, “dwelling,” is used instead of hithalekh, “moving about,” as in Exodus 25:8: “Let them make me a Sanctuary that I may dwell [weshakhanti] among them,” and at the end of the inauguration of the Tabernacle in Exodus 29:45–46: “And I will dwell among the Israelites and I will be their God.”

The rabbinic term *Shekhinah is actually an abstraction of this concept of “dwelling,” which in the sources just quoted is understood literally. Indeed the Tabernacle, as depicted in the Priestly tradition, represents a royal house with all its necessary facilities.

In contrast to the account in Exodus 19 of God’s descent upon Mt. Sinai (19:11, 20), Deuteronomy 4:36 says: “Out of heaven He let you hear His voice, that He might discipline you; and on earth He let you see His great fire and you heard His words out of the midst of the fire.” In other words, the commandments were heard from out of the midst of the fire that was upon the mount, but they were uttered by the Deity from heaven.

The Israelites saw only “His great fire” which symbolizes His essence and qualities (Deut. 4:24: “For the Lord your God is a devouring fire, a jealous God”; cf. 9:3), whereas God Himself remains in His heavenly abode.
From: PRESENCE, DIVINE; Jewishvirtuallibrary.org (excerpts).

 

Some scholars infer from this phenomenon that the angel was not regarded as an independent being, but simply as a manifestation of the Divine power and will. Others suppose that in the earliest version of these stories a human being was confronted directly by God, and that later scribes toned down the boldness of this concept by interposing an angel.
From: Angels & Angelology; Jewishvirtuallibrary.org (edited).

 

45I will abide (dwell) among the Israelites, and I will be their God. 46And they shall know that I the Lord am their God, who brought them out from the land of Egypt that I might abide (dwell) among them, I the Lord their God.     Exodus 29/45-46 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

24For the Lord your God is a consuming fire, an impassioned God.     Deut. 4/24 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

36From the heavens He let you hear His voice to discipline you; on earth He let you see His great fire; and from amidst that fire you heard His words.     Deut. 4/36 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

3Now the Presence of the God of Israel had moved from the cherub on which it had rested to the platform of the House. He called to the man clothed in linen with the writing case at his waist;     Ezekeil 9/3 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

20I am sending an angel before you to guard you on the way and to bring you to the place that I have made ready. 21Pay heed to him and obey him. Do not defy him, for he will not pardon your offenses, since My Name is in him; 22but if you obey him and do all that I say, I will be an enemy to your enemies and a foe to your foes.     Exodus 23/ 20-22 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

1Behold, I am sending My messenger to clear the way before Me, and the Lord whom you seek shall come to His Temple suddenly. As for the angel of the covenant that you desire, he is already coming. 2But who can endure the day of his coming, and who can hold out when he appears? For he is like a smelter’s fire and like fuller’s lye.     Malachi 3/1-2 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

Commentary:

G-d says in Exodus “I am sending an angel before you to guard you on the way and to bring you to the place that I have made ready. Pay heed to him and obey him. Do not defy him, for he will not pardon your offenses, since My Name is in him.”

“My Name” is the name of G-d that no one knows. The name that has no vowels (vowels once known by the High Priest but never recorded). “My Name is in him” means that G-d created the person of that angel by being that angel until He placed the breath of life within him and the angel became a person in heaven.

An angelic person G-d can speak through because He was that person for that person to be created from a blank canvas of soul and spirit. A heavenly soul with the characteristics and traits that fit the person G-d was creating. G-d can be in him because G-d was him for a time. G-d was still G-d and would speak to the angel He was being (as G-d) during the creation process.

In a vision Ezekiel saw that the Presence of the G-d of Israel had moved from the cherub on which it had rested to the platform of the House and He called to the man clothed in linen with the writing case at his waist.

Ezekiel could see the Presence of the G-d of Israel in his vision that had been resting on an angel (dwelling) and then moved (about) to the platform of the House and spoke to the man clothed in linen.

This is G-d, the angel of His Presence and Elijah (the only man G-d specifically takes to heaven in the scripture). The three together are a host of the L-rd of Hosts.

G-d dwelling on an angel is G-d and the person of the spirit of the Holy G-d who is the angel of His Presence. G-d moving to the platform from the angel shows the separate nature of G-d and the spirit of the Holy G-d. They dwell together on the platform of heaven above the world.

“Behold, I am sending My messenger to clear the way before Me, and the Lord whom you seek shall come to His Temple suddenly. As for the angel of the covenant that you desire, he is already coming. But who can endure the day of his coming, and who can hold out when he appears? For he is like a smelter’s fire and like fuller’s lye.”

This is man, the person of the spirit of the holy G-d and G-d. A host of the L-rd of Hosts. The messenger is Elijah. The angel of the covenant is the person of the spirit of the Holy G-d who is the angel of His Presence. And they come with G-d by the reference to being like a smelter’s fire and fuller’s lye. G-d is symbolized by and as fire.

The angel of the covenant is already coming in the sense that G-d just had it written as prophecy that he would be coming. G-d is coming to return to His Temple and He and the angel of His Presence are always together.

And the man who will be Elijah has to be born in a time to come for the reason that the covenant he is a messenger of is the covenant of sin forgiveness of the Jewish people G-d declared in Jeremiah 31 for a time to come.

Like the angel G-d sends before the Israelites in the Exodus My Name is in Elijah the messenger described in Isaiah 53 for the reason that My Name is in the spirit that alights upon him in Isaiah 11/1-2.

I am Elijah and this alighting occurred in the womb though not revealed to me for fifty years in 2007. This assured a life of suffering and sorrows for a testimony of satisfying Isaiah 53.

And just as G-d can be the angelic spirit of His Presence because He was him when He created him G-d can be Elijah the messenger and speak through him.

I am a host of the L-rd of Hosts. G-d has shown me how He becomes the persons in heaven that He is creating by showing me how He can be me. One way He showed me this is by having me do things that were out of my character and ways.

He was being a me that was close to but not me. It has to do with controlling my mind and body. He is never actually me just simulating it through the person of His spirit who is in me and My Name is in him and His power.

His spirit being in me from the womb makes this a more perfect simulation. G-d can bring back memories to me in vision that include exactly how I felt at the time. Everyone can remember they were excited the first time they drove a car but G-d can bring that memory to me and it is as though it is happening again.

And all of this is done so that He can speak through me and to teach me how My Name will be in the angelic spirits of the Jewish people in the heaven that He is creating for the name of Israel to endure forever.

This knowledge and G-d controlling and directing my words and the matters I speak on will help reconcile the Jewish people to each other through HaShem and Judaism.

