10849789_1520468514895245_6761422225019837685_n

1And He said to me, “O mortal, stand up on your feet that I may speak to you.” 2As He spoke to me, a spirit entered into me and set me upon my feet; and I heard what was being spoken to me.     Ezekiel 2/1-2 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

14A spirit seized me and carried me away. I went in bitterness, in the fury of my spirit, while the hand of the Lord was strong upon me. 15And I came to the exile community that dwelt in Tel Abib by the Chebar Canal, and I remained where they dwelt. And for seven days I sat there stunned among them.     Ezekiel 3/14-15 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

22Then the hand of the Lord came upon me there, and He said to me, “Arise, go out to the valley, and there I will speak with you.” 23I arose and went out to the valley, and there stood the Presence of the Lord, like the Presence that I had seen at the Chebar Canal; and I flung myself down on my face. 24And a spirit entered into me and set me upon my feet. And He spoke to me, and said to me: “Go, shut yourself up in your house.     Ezekiel 3/22-24 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

23The Presence of the Lord ascended from the midst of the city and stood on the hill east of the city. 24A spirit carried me away and brought me in a vision by the spirit of God to the exile community in Chaldea. Then the vision that I had seen left me, 25and I told the exiles all the things that the Lord had shown me.     Ezekiel 11/23-25 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

Commentary:

Ezekiel says as He spoke to me, a spirit entered into me and set me upon my feet; and I heard what was being spoken to me.

This is G-d speaking to a man (“O mortal”) who is Ezekiel but he does not hear G-d speaking until a spirit entered into him and set him upon his feet. This account is written as though there was a simultaneous occurrence of G-d’s words and the spirit entering into Ezekiel as he heard them. A spirit of G-d entering a man is shown here to be a conduit to hear G-d’s words.

Ezekiel says a spirit seized me and carried me away. I went in bitterness, in the fury of my spirit, while the hand of the Lord was strong upon me.

The hand of the Lord is His power that is often punishing. And Ezekiel was not happy about it which is the first step in G-d’s refinement of a person, their spirit and soul so they are useful for His purposes.

It is a breaking of the will of a man and slowly tempering his soul and spirit so they do not respond so easily to affronts to self. Ezekiel is having his personality changed for the task of taking G-d’s word to the House of Israel and of Judah in the Assyrian (Babylon) exile. G-d is making Ezekiel tougher and not one to be so easily bitter and having a furious spirit.

The hand of the Lord falling upon you can also mean G-d is giving you visions in His power. The arm of the Lord is often seen as redemption.

In the third account from above the hand of the Lord came to Ezekiel and G-d told him to go to the valley and I will speak to you. Ezekiel goes to the valley and only then does a spirit enter into him and set Ezekiel upon his feet and He (and I believe this sentence means “he” is the spirit but “He” G-d is speaking through the spirit) and tells Ezekiel to go and shut himself up in his house.

G-d speaks through an angel in the burning bush to Moses. G-d says My Name is in the angel sent to be with the Israelite’s in the exodus from Egypt. These accounts of Ezekiel show that G-d is in spirits also. And G-d can use angels or spirits to speak to man.

As the man the spirit of G-d and the person of the spirit of the Holy G-d alighted upon in fulfillment of the prophecy of Isaiah 11/2 I have been taught this and experienced it. Describing it is another matter entirely.

The only difference between a spirit and an angel is their form. They are both encased in elements of the unseen and G-d’s power. They are persons created by G-d. And the first person created was the person of G-d’s spirit and his “body” is G-d’s spirit which has no form.

Ezekiel says the Presence of the L-rd ascended from the midst of the city and stood on the hill east of the city. A spirit carried him away and brought him in a vision by the spirit of G-d to the exile community in Chaldea.

The spirit of G-d used a spirit to bring Ezekiel in a vision to the exile community in Chaldea. And G-d stood by on a hill. For the spirit of G-d to do this he has to be a person. But his power comes from G-d.

And they are always close together. G-d is G-d and G-d created the person of His spirit. They are not a duality and have very different personalities.

