32The troops pounced on the spoil; they took the sheep and cows and calves and slaughtered them on the ground, and the troops ate with the blood. 33When it was reported to Saul that the troops were sinning against the Lord, eating with the blood, he said, “You have acted faithlessly. Roll a large stone over to me today.” 34And Saul ordered, “Spread out among the troops and tell them that everyone must bring me his ox or his sheep and slaughter it here, and then eat. You must not sin against the Lord and eat with the blood.” Every one of the troops brought his own ox with him that night and slaughtered it there. 35Thus Saul set up an altar to the Lord; it was the first altar he erected to the Lord.     I Samuel 14/32-35 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

53 Then Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, ye have no life in you.
54 Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day.
55 For my flesh is meat indeed, and my blood is drink indeed.
56 He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, dwelleth in me, and I in him.
57 As the living Father hath sent me, and I live by the Father: so he that eateth me, even he shall live by me.     John Chapter 6/53-57 Holy Bible KJV.

 

15But whenever you desire, you may slaughter and eat meat in any of your settlements, according to the blessing that the Lord your God has granted you. The unclean and the clean alike may partake of it, as of the gazelle and the deer. 16But you must not partake of the blood; you shall pour it out on the ground like water.      Deut. 12/15-16 Tanakh JPS 1985.

23But make sure that you do not partake of the blood; for the blood is the life, and you must not consume the life with the flesh. 24You must not partake of it; you must pour it out on the ground like water: 25you must not partake of it, in order that it may go well with you and with your descendants to come, for you will be doing what is right in the sight of the Lord.     Deut. 12/23-24 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

4For it is not possible that the blood of bulls and of goats should take away sins.

5 Wherefore when he cometh into the world, he saith, Sacrifice and offering thou wouldest not, but a body hast thou prepared me:

6 In burnt offerings and sacrifices for sin thou hast had no pleasure.

7 Then said I, Lo, I come (in the volume of the book it is written of me,) to do thy will, O God.

8 Above when he said, Sacrifice and offering and burnt offerings and offering for sin thou wouldest not, neither hadst pleasure therein; which are offered by the law;

9 Then said he, Lo, I come to do thy will, O God. He taketh away the first, that he may establish the second.

10 By the which will we are sanctified through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.

19 Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus,

20 By a new and living way, which he hath consecrated for us, through the veil, that is to say, his flesh;

28 He that despised Moses’ law died without mercy under two or three witnesses:     Hebrews 10/4-10 and 19-20 and 28 Holy Bible KJV.

 

Commentary:

The first King of Israel of the tribe of Benjamin King Saul sets up his first altar to the Lord. The reason is that his men were slaughtering sheep, calves and cows and eating them raw with the blood in the field of battle. This altar was not used as a sacrifice to G-d as much as it was to have the animals drained of the blood and cooked in this story.

The laws of Moses for animal sacrifice taught what sin, repentance and atonement was, the importance of cooking meat without the blood, and to appease G-d and praise Him. Mankind was already sacrificing animals and humans and children to mythical gods. Gods created by stories and passed on orally by generations in different cultures all over the world.

And G-d did away with the animal sacrificial system through His prophets telling His people he no longer desired or accepted animal sacrifice for their sins and he brought the sword, pestilence and famine against them and drove them from the land.

The book of Hebrews sums up the basic Christian belief that Jesus was sacrificed for the sins of all the world as a substitute to the animal sacrificial laws of G-d.

Jesus said “Sacrifice and offering thou wouldest not, but a body hast thou prepared me: In burnt offerings and sacrifices for sin thou hast had no pleasure.”

Jesus said “Lo, I come (in the volume of the book it is written of me) to do thy will, O God”

And Jesus said, “Lo, I come to do thy will, O God. He taketh away the first, that he may establish the second.”

The first being animal sacrifice in bulls and goats for sins and the second for G-d to establish human sacrifice for sins in the body of Jesus that G-d prepared for sacrifice.

Only unintentional sins were ever accepted as being transferred to animals. Sins a person did not realize they had committed. All of it was a teaching tool that became obsolete but not because a human body had been prepared in Jesus for all sins. It was because the things taught had been learned. There was still disobedience and sinning but the lessons were over.

In the Bible there is an absolute prohibition on the consumption of blood. The blood of an animal must be drained before the flesh may be eaten.

G-d said “But make sure that you do not partake of the blood; for the blood is the life, and you must not consume the life with the flesh.”

Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, ye have no life in you.  Who so eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day. For my flesh is meat indeed, and my blood is drink indeed. He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, dwelleth in me, and I in him.

G-d did away with the animal sacrificial atonement system of laws by His prophets (who were not listened to and it was continued at the second Temple) and taught that blood is life and never to be eaten (or drunk).

Contrary to what Jesus said G-d did not prepare the body of Jesus to be a sacrifice for the forgiveness of the sins of the world in replacement of the animal sacrificial system.

G-d has His prophets speak His words of sin forgiveness and sends a messenger when His words of sin forgiveness are for a time to come.

