1 Now Moses, tending the flock of his father-in-law Jethro, the priest of Midian, drove the flock into the wilderness, and came to Horeb, the mountain of God. 2An angel of the Lord appeared to him in a blazing fire out of a bush. He gazed, and there was a bush all aflame, yet the bush was not consumed.

3Moses said, “I must turn aside to look at this marvelous sight; why doesn’t the bush burn up?” 4When the Lord saw that he had turned aside to look, God called to him out of the bush: “Moses! Moses!” He answered, “Here I am.”

5And He said, “Do not come closer. Remove your sandals from your feet, for the place on which you stand is holy ground. 6I am,” He said, “the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.” And Moses hid his face, for he was afraid to look at God.     Exodus 3/1-6 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

22Then the hand of the Lord came upon me there, and He said to me, “Arise, go out to the valley, and there I will speak with you.” 23I arose and went out to the valley, and there stood the Presence of the Lord, like the Presence that I had seen at the Chebar Canal; and I flung myself down on my face. 24And a spirit entered into me and set me upon my feet. And He spoke to me, and said to me: “Go, shut yourself up in your house. 25As for you, O mortal, cords have been placed upon you, and you have been bound with them, and you shall not go out among them. 26And I will make your tongue cleave to your palate, and you shall be dumb; you shall not be a reprover to them, for they are a rebellious breed. 27But when I speak with you, I will open your mouth, and you shall say to them, ‘Thus says the Lord God!’ He who listens will listen, and he who does not will not—for they are a rebellious breed.”     Ezekiel 3/22-27     Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

Many biblical writers assume the existence of beings superior to man in knowledge and power but subordinate to the one God. These beings serve as His attendants, like courtiers of an earthly king, and also as His agents to convey His messages to men and to carry out His will.

These beings are clearly designated by the English word “angel.” The terminology of biblical Hebrew is not so exact. Malʾakh, the word most often used, means “messenger” (“to send”). It is applied frequently to human agents and is sometimes used figuratively.

Apparently for greater clarity, the Bible frequently calls the angel the malʾakh of God; yet the same title is occasionally applied to human agents of the Deity. Elsewhere angels are called ʾelohim (“god” or “gods”); more often bene ʾelohimor bene ʾelim (“sons of gods”) – in the general sense of “divine beings.”

They are also known as kedoshim (qedoshim; “holy beings). Often the angel is called simply “man.” The mysterious being who wrestled with Jacob is first called a man, then ʾelohim, but Hosea refers to him also as a malʾakh.

As a result of this there are some passages where it is uncertain whether a human or superhuman messenger is meant. The Bible also speaks of winged creatures of angelic character called cherubim and seraphim who serve a variety of functions. A further ambiguity is due to the fact that the Bible does not always distinguish clearly between God and His messenger.

From: Angels & Angelology; Jewishvirtuallibrary.org (edited).

 

1But a shoot shall grow out of the stump of Jesse,
A twig shall sprout from his stock.

2The spirit of the Lord shall alight upon him:
A spirit of wisdom and insight,
A spirit of counsel and valor,
A spirit of devotion and reverence for the Lord.

3He shall sense the truth by his reverence for the Lord:
He shall not judge by what his eyes behold,
Nor decide by what his ears perceive.     Isaiah 11/1-3 Tanakh JPS 1985.

 

Commentary:

“And a spirit entered into me and set me upon my feet. And He spoke to me, and said to me: “Go, shut yourself up in your house.”

An angel of the Lord appeared to him in a blazing fire out of a bush……..God called to him out of the bush: “Moses! Moses!” He answered, “Here I am.”

An angel of the Lord appeared to Moses in a burning bush and G-d spoke to Moses. G-d speaks through the angel. All angels have a spirit in them.

An angel and a spirit are both persons G-d can speak through. G-d speaks through the person of His spirit to man throughout the bible as the “word of the Lord”.

A spirit entered into Ezekiel and spoke to him. G-d could also speak to Ezekiel through that spirit as G-d is in all angels and spirits.

G-d is infinite and without form and cannot enter into a person in whole but He can in part. G-d can be in a person to the extent that He is in the spirit that has entered a person.

The person such as Ezekiel becomes the burning bush and G-d speaks through His spirit and through the spirit of the man. Just as G-d spoke through the spirit of the angel who was in the burning bush.

Often the angel is called simply “man.” The mysterious being who wrestled with Jacob is first called a man, then ʾelohim (“god” or “gods”), but Hosea refers to him also as a malʾakh (“messenger” or “to send”).

In Isaiah 11/2 the spirit of G-d alights upon the anointed king of the line of David to lead Israel into a time of peace and prosperity through his devotion, valor, wisdom and counseling.

Like Ezekiel the spirit of G-d enters into the man and speaks to him and G-d speaks to him through His spirit. He becomes the man who wrestles with Israel.

And the man is a messenger and a teacher of righteousness. He is Elijah.

And I know this as the man described in Isaiah 53 by first hand knowledge and experience. The person of the spirit of the holy G-d has alighted upon and entered into me and is dictating the words that I am typing and G-d is speaking through him.

That means that G-d is typing this piece through His spirit that is in me and I am the vessel that they are in. It also is the explanation and interpretation of “He shall not judge by what his eyes behold, Nor decide by what his ears perceive” of Isaiah 11/3.

All of my decisions and judgments and perceptions are now totally and completely controlled by G-d through His spirit (and by His power).

But my spirit is still in me (the vessel) and the things that G-d has me do and say today and in the years to come are not mine and often are contrary to who I am. My soul and emotions and spirit and self had to be changed to adapt to this new person G-d has “me” be.

That is one purpose for my offering my soul and self and vessel to G-d for guilt allowing Him to chastise, punish, bruise and crush me until I am suitable for the prosperity of His purpose as the man described in Isaiah 53. He has broken my soul and spirit and person and self will so that the things He would have me do and say do not bother me.

The guilt of the world and sins of the Jewish people were placed on me just as the punishment of the house of Israel and house of Judah was placed on Ezekiel in chapter 3 of his book to make his forehead as hard as flint to take the words of G-d to the Jewish people.

For me it is so that I can be the teacher of righteousness and messenger of the covenant of sin forgiveness of the Jewish people and make the world a better place for all people without the pain and anxiety and fear these tasks would normally cause me to feel.

The man and divine beings who wrestled with Jacob all night is now a man and divine beings that will wrestle with Israel for years. Elijah, the HaMoshiach and prophet like Moses. G-d’s righteous servant.

